Countdown begins…31, 30, 29…

I love getting away from Oregon for the coldest, darkest and wettest months. In late January or early February, I get anxious about what’s happening in the garden at home, what’s blooming and what plants may be lost to freezing weather or water-logged clay soil. I start counting the days. I wonder whether the house is OK or if we’re going to arrive home to broken pipes or other problems. This year I have a new concern and something else calls me home: my kitty, Scruffy. I worked so hard to gain her trust and even though she is in the loving care of my friend and neighbor Kimmie, I miss her and worry that I will have to begin all over again in winning over this semi-feral little girl. She accepts the mister and she accepts Kimmie, but without a doubt, I am her person.

Scruffy

Scruffy


I'm napping...

I’m napping…


IMG_7235 (654x800)
I looked for some photos of the garden from last January or February, the only time I’ve been at home in Oregon at this time of year in a decade, but there are none as my father was in hospice care and I was spending as much time as possible with him. I can’t even remember what might have been blooming. Perhaps some Schizostylis, now renamed Hesperantha coccinea, a name I can sometimes remember, sometimes not; perhaps the Iris reticulata, one of my favorites so I hope I don’t miss them.
My friend Flora Gardener of Tangly Cottage Gardening recently posted some photos of them blooming on the Long Beach Peninsula in SW Washington state where she lives and gardens both for pleasure and professionally. It’s quite a bit milder there than in the Willamette Valley so perhaps they are ahead of the I. reticulata at New Leaf and I will still get the pleasure of their fleeting beauty when I return home. I planted several hundred new ones last fall, so it would be a shame to miss their blooms.

Since I can’t share my January garden with you, I want to show you some photos of August’s and Laurel’s little hillside garden which I told you about in an earlier post, Time keeps on slippin, slippin, slippin, into the future….

August and his wife Laurel are retired and came to Morro Bay from Oregon. They live in a small apartment on top of a tourist shop facing the bay, below the house on top of the hill that you see in the below photo.

Road View August's Garden

Road View August’s Garden

They’ve carved out a wonderful patio deck and garden area on the hillside. In the below photo, you see at left the door to their apartment. They even have sedum containers on the porch roof and the apartment roof.

Entrance to August's Apartment

Entrance to August’s and Laurel’s Apartment

View of  Upper Area

View of Upper Area

Close Up

Close Up (click for larger image)

Without having my own garden to photograph, I’m always in search of other interesting gardens and plants. There aren’t many gardens here due to the drought and resulting water restrictions and very small and expensive lots. Here are a few interesting plants and flowers I spotted yesterday afternoon on my walk.
2014-01-29 001 003 (800x637)

2014-01-29 001 006 (800x571)

Leonotis leonurus

Leonotis leonurus

2014-01-29 001 041 (600x800)

2014-01-29 001 035 (800x598)
And, a pretty I spotted in a window.

Pretty art glass seen in a window

Art Glass

And crab pots down by the bay. I’ve seen crab and fishing boats from Astoria in our little harbor. Perhaps there are some from Ilwaco as well. Some of my peninsula friends might even know the owner of these.

Crab pots being offloaded from a truck

Crab pots being offloaded from a truck

4 thoughts on “Countdown begins…31, 30, 29…

    • Thank you, Judy. She was so scroungy looking when she first started coming around. We found out that she had “belonged” to an elderly man who lived across the street and down a bit when he passed away. Apparently he’d set out food for a number of cats. Scruffy had some siblings who were captured in a have-a-heart trap and homes were found for them. Scruffy was too clever and they finally gave up on trying to catch her. After feeding her well and using stealth mode to wormed and deflea her, her coat eventually started coming in thick and glossy. It took months for her to not fear our approach or touch and after over a year she trusted me enough to jump up on the recliner beside my feet, and then eventually sit in my lap. I hope we can resume our relationship where it left off.

      Like

  1. Of course, I adore August and Laurel’s garden. Just perfect cottagey garden.

    Interesting that you see boats from up here. Our marina and boatyard seem pretty empty right now.

    I sure hope you get to see your Iris reticulata.

    Like

Leave a Reply

